The Beginning – Part 4: I’m Doing What?

3 Aug

A number of friends and family members told me I should start a baking business.  I dismissed them all.  I loved baking, but simply as a hobby.  As a business?  Crazy talk.

That was until my mom and a dear friend put the wheels in motion – without so much as a discussion with me (isn’t that how it usually goes?!).  Mom came home one day and said we were having an open house in a week.  My logo was set.  A flier was in the works.  I just need to get to it.

After pleading my case, I was able to get all to agree to push the date back.  Beyond that, we were full speed ahead.

For the next three weeks, I worked on flavor combination, cookie shapes and my vision (you seeing a theme yet?) for the set-up.

Table one was everyday – chocolate, vanilla and peanut butter.  And twinkle lights.  Everything looks better with twinkle lights.

Table two was fall – apple with caramel swiss buttercream, carrot cake and pumpkin with maple spice swiss buttercream.

Table three was winter – triple coconut, sample holiday cookies and sugar cookie medallions to taste.  The pink tinsel tree was a gift.  It’s officially my mascot.  I love it – pink tinsel, teal garland, twinkle lights and all!

By the end, I sold nearly all of my cookies-to-go, had orders through December and requests for custom cookies.

And so began… Kristina’s Confections.

3 Responses to “The Beginning – Part 4: I’m Doing What?”

  1. Kathy August 4, 2010 at 9:41 pm #

    where’s today’s blog????????????? Love the site……..
    K

    • Maria August 27, 2010 at 9:58 pm #

      This is why your mom is awesome, because she made you start this business that makes the most deeeeeelicious cupcakes and cookies!!! Speaking of, I need to find some excuse to order some….

  2. Katie August 28, 2010 at 3:33 pm #

    Kristina

    Congrats! What a great business and your desserts look amazing!!! You should be so proud of yourself. Can’t wait to place an order!

Leave a Reply

