That Was A Close One

27 Aug

There was nearly a disaster in the Kristina’s Confections kitchen yesterday (spoiler alert: all is now well).  My beloved KitchenAid Mixer had a malfunction…

I received my mixer almost five years ago as a Christmas gift and it is, without a doubt, in the top five gifts I have ever received (my first Cabbage Patch doll, my dollhouse, a pair of scrubs and my Tod’s purse round out the top five, in case you are wondering).  I wanted the mixer for years but didn’t have the space or, realistically, the need.  But it came at the right time and we’ve loved each other ever since.

Until yesterday, that is.

I was making sugar cookie dough to work on new designs when the the head of the mixer fell.  Okay, that sounds a bit more dramatic than what may have actually occurred, but the paddle was hitting the sides of the bowl and I knew something was definitely wrong.  I gave the mixer a look over and thought a screw was loose.  So off I went to find a flat head.  That wasn’t it.

Then I did a bit of research and it seems the peg that keeps the head set into the base of the bowl had jimmied out.  (I, in fact, don’t think this bolt has ever been fully in place on my mixer… but it was just recently that I started photographing the mixer, so I can’t be sure).

Small breakdown.  Pull myself together.

I greased the bolt, used a hammer and voila… disaster averted.  Phew!

We then spent the rest of the day working on some cookies and some icing together.  And we plan on spending the weekend together too.  Stay tuned to see what we create…

One Response to “That Was A Close One”

  1. Dorothy Gundling August 27, 2010 at 1:23 pm #

    Love your Kristina’s Confections Blog. Very, very
    interesting and nice.
    Lots of luck with your business.
    Dorothy Gundling

Leave a Reply

