Flavor Focus: Triple Salted Caramel

10 Sep

When I was little my family went to the beach every summer.  One of the highlights that I waited for all year long was my one night out… to make my own sundae!  (Trust me, “a night out” for everyone else was something entirely different.)

My sundae was decadent and the same every time – vanilla ice cream, slathered with hot fudge and caramel and topped with colored jimmies (or sprinkles – a debate for the ages).  If I were to indulge now, the only change would be to add a dollop of whipped cream.

Although a bit more gourmet than the Candy Kitchen caramel sauce from my childhood, this Triple Salted Caramel cupcake evokes the same decadent excitement for me.

With a hint of fleur de sel (er, sea salt), the caramel sauce shines in the frosting, the caramel lava center and in the drizzled topping.  The cupcake base uses brown sugar, adding that caramel depth you don’t get with just plain white sugar.

A perfect treat for these cooler nights!

Perfect Pairing:  corn mazes, fall festivals, gourmet dinner at home

3 Responses to “Flavor Focus: Triple Salted Caramel”

  1. Dalia McClintock September 15, 2010 at 9:51 pm #

    Kristina, I’m Cate’s mom…and I am addicted to your photos. For sure when we visit for Christmas, I have to have a Triple Salted Caramel and a Banana Chocolate Chip. I may skip all meals, just to enjoy them. Congratulations on your business and I wish you much success. Go for it! (And open a branch in the Hartford, CT area!)

    • kristinasconfections September 15, 2010 at 10:06 pm #

      Thank you so much for the kind words. You are too sweet. I am so glad you are enjoying the pictures. I will be sure to make sure there are samples to be had when you are in town for Christmas!!! Hope all is well!

  2. Michael Beyer October 12, 2010 at 9:27 am #

    Gorgeous photos! I love caramel and making it is a lot of fun too. I had a ball making these homemade caramel apples by Martha Stewart. Perfect for Halloween!
    http://michaelbeyer.wordpress.com/2010/10/10/classic-caramel-apples/

Leave a Reply

