Sneak Peak into Fall

14 Sep

With fall here, that means the holiday season is lurking just around the corner.  Don’t get me wrong, I’m not trying to rush things.  I know I’ll be longing for these 80 degree days in a few short months.

That said, I have been working on some fall sugar cookies… and perhaps baking with pumpkin and apple.  But that’s not crazy like Christmas trees in September (really, why so early?).

Anyway, I thought you might enjoy a little peak into the sugar cookie design process.

It all begins with me sketching out designs, complete with colors and decorating ideas.

Then I pick cookies that will use the same royal icing colors.

While the cookies are baking, I make, color and prep the royal icing.

Once the cookies are cooled, I outline the design.

Then the cookies are flooded.

Finally, all the embellishments – dots, lines, writing – are added.  You’ll have to stay tuned to see the final product.  Be sure to check back in early October!

2 Responses to “Sneak Peak into Fall”

  1. Chintha Rajakaruna September 19, 2010 at 7:23 pm #

    Hi Kristina,
    Your site is awesome!! I’ll share it with my family and friends. Those cupcakes looks yum!I’ll stay tuned. I wish you all the Best and you are doing a great job!! Your mom is very proud of you (I spoke to her few days ago) Sorry I haven’t been able to check my personal email that was my delay in replying to you.
    Have fun baking:-)

  2. Pam Denney November 4, 2010 at 2:27 pm #

    Those squeeze bottles of icing look exactly like the bottles of paint still sitting in the cabinet of Anna’s bathroom. Creating on paper…creating on dough. Lots of similarities!

Leave a Reply

