I ♥ Resa

25 Oct

I officially became part of the B family when I moved into the family home right after college.  The funny thing is, my friend Em – who is in fact a blood member of the B family – and I have no recollection of asking her parents if it was okay.  But, a room was ready and waiting when I arrived, so I guess they didn’t mind too much.  Thankfully… since I was in Pasadena.  California that it is.  Not exactly around the corner from home.

Truth is, for those who know Resa and Mark, it was no surprise that yet another person was living in the house on San Pasqual.  I was just one on a long list of house guests.  Mark dealt with it (he called me the bastard child… I took it as a term of endearment!).  Resa relished in the full house.

Resa... in all her glory!

That was Resa.  A mother in every sense of the word and it didn’t stop with her three children.  Her love, compassion, kindness, honesty and patience extended to her nieces and nephews, her fifth graders and all the friends who came through the house over the years.

I was extra fortunate to have spent a lot of quality time with Resa while living in Pasadena and during a family trip to Hawaii (yup, you read that correctly.  I told you “bastard child” was a term of endearment!).  She gave me hugs when I missed my Mom’s comfort, she taught me to make perfectly brewed sun tea and summer squash “casserole”, she guided me through the Hollywood tour (she missed her calling) and so much more.

First annual beer pong tournament

After a long, hard fought battle with cancer, Resa passed away two years ago.  To commemorate Resa and her extraordinary life, the family organizes a beer pong tournament each October (trust me, Resa would have LOVED this).  The money goes to a scholarship fund in Resa’s name.

Wildflowers in waiting

Unfortunately, I wasn’t able to make this year’s tournament.  So I thought I would send a treat to let everyone know I was there in spirit.

Perfect bite-size complement to beer

I think Resa would have loved the little wildflowers.  xo

3 Responses to “I ♥ Resa”

  1. Tiffani October 25, 2010 at 4:27 pm #

    They were the hit of the party- so tasty and adorable…
    you were missed this year.

  2. Pam Denney November 4, 2010 at 2:40 pm #

    I LOVE the design on these cookies: so retro. The design reminds me of this empire waist dress I had in 1973, or maybe it was the wallpaper in my apartment’s bathroom….

  3. Amanda Halpenny March 15, 2011 at 3:56 pm #

    Alittle late in responding to this post, but the cookies were yummy, and looked beautiful. (As one of many kids that lived in their house, I know that Resa would have loved them. Thanks for making the day so special from afar.

Leave a Reply

