Flavor Focus: Gingerbread Latte

1 Nov

I’ll be honest, I’m not a huge ginger person.  I pass on the pickled ginger when I eat sushi.  I don’t think crystallized ginger is a candy substitute.  And I’ll take pumpkin bread over gingerbread any day of the week.

But I know I am not America and people love gingerbread (and all things ginger related).  My grandfather loves gingerbread, a fact I only recently learned.  I have a friend who waits all year long for gingerbread latte season.  And I know there are a lot more folks like them out there.

I thought it fitting that I work on something for the ginger lovers out there.  And I’m excited to introduce… gingerbread latte.

A ginger spice cupcake topped with a vanilla cream cheese latte frosting.  The result is a perfectly warm winter treat.  Just in time for this cold weather.  Just in time for the holiday season.

This just might change my opinion on ginger.

Perfect pairing: post holiday shopping, Christmas brunch, après-ski

3 Responses to “Flavor Focus: Gingerbread Latte”

  1. Dalia McClintock November 2, 2010 at 11:43 am #

    Kristina, my favorite Halloween memory is going to the neighborhood bakery where they handed out fresh, warm gingerbread to the trick-or-treaters. My brother’s buddy’s family owned the bakery, so I always got two pieces. I once experimented with different batters, using molasses vs. brown sugar vs. maple syrup vs. combinations and now have my favorite, which I am tempted to make tonight, inspired by your post on the cupcakes! Hope your business is going great and looking forward to live tastings when we visit Cate for Christmas!

  2. Pretty. Good. Food. November 3, 2010 at 1:01 pm #

    Sounds delicious!

  3. Pam Denney November 4, 2010 at 2:46 pm #

    I think ginger is ready for a huge comeback (reminiscent of simpler lifestyles with fewer choices) so yet again, you are right on top of a trend.

Leave a Reply

