Happy (Belated) Thanksgiving!

27 Nov

I hope you all had a wonderful Thanksgiving!  Sorry for delay.  It took me a while to recover from our gigantic meal.  The pie put me over the edge. No really.  Over. The. Edge.

We changed it up a bit this year in our family.  Okay, I changed it up.  I felt we were all old enough (the youngest is now nine) to have one table, to have an actual table setting and to eat at the same time.  With such a crowd and such an age range, we used to sit in various rooms – wherever you could find a seat – rush through a quick grace and eat at lighting speed.  And Grandma ate after we were all nearly finished (by her own choosing, but still).  Well, no longer.

This year I started the change, keeping it simple and organic.

These small flower arrangements were spaced along the table.  I forget where I first saw this idea, but I LOVED it and so did everyone else.  It’s simple, fall-colored flowers in empty pumpkin cans.  Love.

For the place mats, Mom and I cut natural and chocolate brown burlap, which you can find at any fabric store.  We then stamped “Thanksgiving” words along the edge.  For the brown burlap we used gold ink and for the natural burlap we used dark brown.

The last touch was using my leaf cookies as place cards.  The top one is for me and the bottom is for my youngest cousin Michael.  Oldest and youngest grandchildren.  Awww.  Didn’t even mean to do that.

Anyway,  the cookie place cards were actually the only contribution I made to dessert.  Odd, right?!

In any event, I wish you the happiest (belated) Thanksgiving from our table to yours!

One Response to “Happy (Belated) Thanksgiving!”

  1. marymac November 27, 2010 at 8:12 am #

    Lovely ideas!

Leave a Reply

