Peanut Butter Brownies – Fresh Baked Friday!

4 Mar

You want to know a secret?  I don’t really love brownies.  Okay, unless it’s a warm brownie sundae.  Then I would use the term love.  Otherwise, eh.

And, generally speaking, I find boxed (gasp!) brownies better than brownies baked from scratch (double gasp!).

Still, I truck along, hoping, waiting, longing for a homemade brownie to knock me out of my shoes (I’d say socks, but those who know me, know I rarely wear them… socks are something I definitely do not love… ever).

So what about these babies?  Well, they are good.  Great?  Not so sure, but definitely good.  And the peanut butter flavor dominates, so I don’t think it is a fair comparison to other brownies.

Do you have a favorite homemade brownie recipe?  If so, let me know in the comments.  My search continues.

Peanut Butter Brownies
Printer Friendly Version

Brownie…
8 tablespoons (1 stick) unsalted butter
2 ounces unsweetened chocolate, coarsely chopped
4 ounces semi-sweet chocolate, coarsely chopped
1 teaspoon instant coffee
3/4 cup sugar
3 large eggs
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
2/3 cups all-purpose flour
1/2 teaspoon baking powder
1/4 teaspoon  salt

Peanut Butter Filling…
4 tablespoons unsalted butter, melted
1/2 cup powdered sugar
3/4 cup smooth peanut butter (I used natural peanut butter)
1/4 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract

9-16 peanut butter filled candies (optional)

Directions…

Preheat the oven to 325F.  Grease an 8×8-inch baking pan and line with parchment paper so that it hangs over two sides.  Grease the parchment paper as well.

Boil two inches of water in a medium saucepan.  Combine butter, chocolates and coffee powder in a heat proof bowl and place over the simmering water.  Stir until chocolate and butter are melted.  Carefully remove the bowl from the double boiler and let mixture cool slightly.  Stir in the vanilla extract.

In a small bowl, whisk together flour, baking powder and salt.

Whisk granulated sugar into the chocolate and butter mixture.  Make sure the chocolate mixture isn’t too hot and whisk the eggs in the mixture one at a time.

Fold the flour mixture into the chocolate mixture.

To make the peanut butter filling, whisk together peanut butter, melted butter, powdered sugar, salt and vanilla extract until smooth.

Spoon half the brownie mixture into the prepared pan.  Pour the peanut butter mixture on top of the brownie batter and, using a knife, swirl the two together.  Spoon the remainder of the brown batter carefully on top. Place the peanut butter candies on top, if you are using.

Bake for 40 – 45 minutes or until a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean.  A few crumbs are okay.

Let cool for about 30 minutes before cutting.

Enjoy!

Source: adapted from Joy the Baker

One Response to “Peanut Butter Brownies – Fresh Baked Friday!”

  1. Jessica March 4, 2011 at 7:00 am #

    Are you kidding me!?!? These are AMAZING…though I don’t know if I’m excited or mad that you posted the recipe b/c now I will know how to make more of them! 🙂

Leave a Reply

