Pretzel M&M Blondies – Fresh Baked Friday!

11 Mar

After my rant last week, you’re probably scratching your head… another brownie?

See, I think brownies and blondies are two completely separate categories.  When I hear “brownie”, I instantly think chewy, chocolate squares.  When I hear “blondie”, I instantly think chewy, non-chocolate squares.  If this were a Venn diagram, friends, there would be no overlap.

Phew.  That rant is over.

Where was I?  Oh, right!  Blondies.  These were quite tasty.  And really easy.

Although, there was a bit of a mishap.  Guess I should put that out there.

So, let me teach you a little something today.  If you are going to bake, say blondies, and find the brown sugar is dried out and hard… do not use it!  There are ways to “reconstitute it” (this makes me think of mushrooms, but I can’t think of a better word) and that might be fine.  But, trust me, don’t use the dried up brown sugar.

Turns out, dried up brown sugar makes hockey puck blondies.  Boo.

But soft brown sugar?  Well that makes these blondies pretty darn delicious.  A bit sweet.  A bit salty.  A touch of chocolate.  Not a bad trifecta.

Pretzel M&M Blondies
Printer Friendly Version

8 tablespoons (1 stick) unsalted butter
1 cup brown sugar
2 eggs
1 teaspoon vanilla
¼ teaspoon salt
1 ½ cups flour
1 cup pretzel M&M’s (or other candy of your choice)
fine sea salt (or fleur de sel)

Directions…

Preheat the oven to 350F.  Grease an 8×8-inch baking pan and line with parchment paper so that it hangs over two sides.  Grease the parchment paper as well.

Beat the butter and sugar until light and fluffy.  Add the eggs, one at a time, beating after each addition.  Add the vanilla and salt.

On low speed, add in the flour and mix until just combined.  Fold in the pretzel M&M’s.

Pour the batter into the prepared pan and spread evenly.  Sprinkle lightly with sea salt.

Bake for 30 – 35 minutes, until a toothpick inserted in the middle comes out clean.

Cool completely in a wire rack in the pan.  Once cool, lift out and cut into squares.

Source: slightly adapted from Bake at 350


One Response to “Pretzel M&M Blondies – Fresh Baked Friday!”

  1. padenney@gmail.com March 11, 2011 at 10:03 pm #

    I want one of these right now. I need some cheering up after watching all the tsunami videos.

Leave a Reply

