Custom Cuts: Cowboy Gus

13 Apr

Granddad loves Westerns.  Mini-series or full-length feature.  New or old.  Seen or unseen.  He loves them all.  If John Wayne is in it, well, that’s like hitting the lotto.

So, I can only imagine how disappointed he would be to find out I had to do a Google search when I was contacted to do these cookies.  See, the soon-to-arrive baby will be loosely named after the main character, Gus, in Lonesome Dove.  (On my behalf, I knew it was a Western.  I just didn’t know much after that.)

Cousin Pam (you remember her from this post, right?), who ordered these cookies for a book club friend, wanted to tie-in the name reference with the cookies.

And so 10 gallon hats were born.

And as a bit of an ode to those Western days, we added stars to the onesies.  Come one, surely Western babies wore cute star adorned onesies.

From what I heard these were a huge hit.  Perhaps, this will inspire me to read Lonesome Dove.  On second, thought, maybe I’ll rent the miniseries and just watch it with Granddad.

3 Responses to “Custom Cuts: Cowboy Gus”

  1. paddle attachment April 13, 2011 at 4:28 pm #

    Cute! I bet those little cow ropers did wear stars on their onesies. Somebody has to be sheriff, right?

  2. Kathy Passmore April 14, 2011 at 1:17 pm #

    You MUST watch Lonesome Dove! One of my absolute favorite mini-series. I developed a HUGE crush on “Gus” (Robert Duvall) after watching LD. Cried a lot throughout as well. (I’m not a huge Western movie fan either).

Leave a Reply

