Party Central {Part 1} – You are Cordially Invited

5 May

I promised birthday brunch details.  And I don’t like to disappoint.  So here you go.

Shall we start from the beginning?  For me, that was the color palate.  

Mom and I knew we wanted the party to feel classic and feminine with a modern twist.  After a little bit of discussion and a lot of internet browsing we settled on light pink (feminine), white (classic) and grey (modern twist), with accents of peacock (another modern twist).  

From here, we moved on to the invites.  We happen to have a really great printer, so I suggested we look on Etsy and print them ourselves.  Highly recommend.  

After looking at a bunch (okay, nearly all) of the invites on Etsy, we settled on a design from KMThomasDesigns.  I can not say enough positive things about Krysta, owner and designer of KMThomasDesigns.  She was amazing to work with – responsive, helpful, patient.  I could go on and on.  And trust me, I know I can be a bit of a challenge!  

So why is this route so great?  Well besides the obvious – direct contact with the designer – the Etsy route is very cost effective, even more so since I work at Paper Source and got a discount on the paper (full disclosure here!).  You can also print the exact quantity you want, which is a huge bonus when you realize you forgot to invite Great-Aunt Matilda (you know what I mean).

Additionally, it allows you to customize the invites.  The invite Krysta designed was primarily pink, which I loved, but I wanted a neutral to make the overall feel a bit more sophisticated and mature.  We achieved this by backing it with grey card stock.  Then we embossed a similar flower on the envelope in a couple of places.  All this was easy, easy, easy and inexpensive.  It’s all about the details!

Another great part of using a designer from Etsy is that you can have other pieces designed using the same colors and theme – which saved me aggravation and time.  For the invites, Krysta designed return address labels for us that matched the invite.  She also designed food tags and tent cards with the same theme (more on that later).

The invitations really set the tone for the birthday brunch.  Plus, we received tons of “oohs” and “aahs” about the invites, which is just nice to hear.  And a few people even noticed the details like the embossed flower.  Phew!

Next up?  Decorations… stay tuned!

Leave a Reply

