Flying South

11 May

Mom and I are heading to Charleston, South Carolina for a four-day getaway this weekend.  It’s my official 30th birthday present.  Pretty awesome since my 21st birthday present was a belt from TJMaxx.  Not that I’m complaining (and I’ll save Mom the trouble – “You were in London for the semester.  That was your present!”).

This will be Mom’s first trip to Charleston, my third.  If you’ve ever been, though, you know it’s a lovely city that never gets old.  I think we are equally excited to explore a little, to relax a lot and to take in the Southern charm.

The last time I was there was more than four years ago.  So while I know to look for some good shrimp and grits (can’t get enough), a tree covered in Spanish moss and friendly Southerners, I love hearing about new places to eat, things to do and spots for an afternoon cocktail. 

Suggestions for not to miss spots?  I’d love to hear them!


2 Responses to “Flying South”

  1. paula garofalo May 12, 2011 at 10:55 pm #

    Wow! You’ll have so much fun! And what a great time to go to Charleston- not too hot and muggy! I’m actually going myself next weekend! I visit at least once a year- so I can give you some suggestions- Ha!
    Rooftop bars!!

    http://www.marketpavilion.com/index.cfm?page=pavilion- You get to walk into a really class hotel to take the elevator up to the bar. Good food- but $$

    http://www.henryshousecharleston.com/- on market street- this is my favorite! Great views- and very good food by the Cru catering company. Get the pickles- don’t ask- just get them.

    College Bar- ok you’re clearly concerned with healthy eating (so am I)- but this was my favorite when I was in college The Kickin’ Chicken on King St. They’re food is salty- but they have this amazing dilly dip sauce thats good on anything-

    http://www.hymanseafood.com/

    Ghost tours! Love them! They can be a bit kitchy- but just have a bottle of wine at Henry’s first- then there totally fun!!

    And always- a historic house or carriage tour!

    And remember- the beaches! I like the IOP the best!

    Well thats all- clearly I love Charleston- and expect to see photos!

    P

    • Kristina's Confections May 12, 2011 at 11:17 pm #

      So great to hear from you. Thanks for the suggestions… I’ll be sure to post pictures when we get back!!!

Leave a Reply

