I Made a Cake

7 Jun

It’s no big deal.

Except that it was pretty.  And really delicious.  

So delicious, Aunt Gerry wanted to lick the plate.  And Mom ate a whole piece.  You know, despite not liking chocolate cake.  And Grandma didn’t share her second half with Granddad.  

Yes, people, it was so good, my family was starting to show their ugly sides.

Except for Cousin Pam.  Probably ‘cause the cake was for her birthday.  So she could eat however much she wanted. 

Dark chocolate cake.  Layers of whipped chocolate ganache.  Covered in a rich Raspberry Swiss Meringue Buttercream.  Drizzled in chocolate ganache.  Because a touch more chocolate was definitely needed.

I cut, I cooled, I smoothed.  I cooled again, I covered, I drizzled.  

The end result?  Worth every step. 

Psst… Interested in seeing the steps?  Take a look at Sweetapolita.  She gives an amazing step-by-step.

3 Responses to “I Made a Cake”

  1. marymac June 7, 2011 at 8:21 am #

    Now , THAT is a cake!!! I want it for MY birthday!!

  2. katie brennan June 7, 2011 at 7:28 pm #

    Hmmm my 30th birthday is in September….. I’ll have Paul call you!

Leave a Reply

