Baked Oatmeal

12 Jul

My mom eats oatmeal every morning.  You know, she’s one of those  people who can eat the same thing day in and day out.  For breakfast, her choice is oatmeal. 

    

Me?  Well, I’m more of a dabbler.  Some mornings I like toast.  Some mornings I want oatmeal.  Some mornings I crave cold cereal.  I know.  I’m simply wild and crazy. 

With school starting, I needed something I could easily take with me.  I came across this recipe and have to say – it’s the best of both world.  Mom gets oatmeal.  I get a breakfast that can easily be changed up from week to week.  

     

Plus, I still live on the edge.  I eat regular cereal on Fridays.

Baked Oatmeal
Makes 6 Servings

Printer Friendly Version

2 cups fruit of your choice, more or less depending on taste*
3 cups Old Fashioned oats
1 ½ heaping teaspoons cinnamon
1 ½ teaspoons baking powder
3 cups milk
⅓ cup maple syrup (a bit more if you like your oatmeal sweeter)
2 teaspoons vanilla extract
1 cup toasted almonds, chopped (or preferred nut)

*I have used blueberries, strawberries, peaches and blackberries.  All have been excellent.  You can use fresh or frozen.

Directions…

Preheat oven to 375F.  Place the mason jars in a baking dish.  Divide the fruit between the bottoms of the six jars, reserving some fruit for the top.

Mix the oats, cinnamon and baking powder in a small bowl.  Divide between the jars, about ½ a cup per jar.

Mix the milk, maple syrup and vanilla together.  As evenly as possible, pour the mixture over the oats, letting it soak through to the bottom.  Top with the remainder of the fruit.  

Place in the oven and bake until the liquid is absorbed, tops are just browned but the oats are still a bit moist.  If you are eating immediately, this should take about 30 minutes.  If you are making ahead and plan to reheat, slightly under cook the oatmeal by 5 – 8 minutes (I find 22 minutes is usually perfect).

Top with chopped almonds and enjoy!

Source: adapted from Sprouted Kitchen, originally from Super Natural Everyday by Heidi Swanson

2 Responses to “Baked Oatmeal”

  1. Mom July 12, 2011 at 7:05 am #

    I can’t help it — I love oatmeal!

  2. Dalia McClintock July 12, 2011 at 11:56 am #

    Kristina, what a great idea! I’ve shared with my daughter-in-law who is about to open a brunch delivery business–she plans on using mason jars as containers, and this could be a great addition to her menu.

Leave a Reply

